fbpx

Footprint

Making an Impact Worldwide

This information is based on data from affiliate organizations implementing the evidence-based model and subscribers that use Parents as Teachers curricula within other evidence-based home visiting models and some not within a model.

Find a Program Near You

 

Tribal Footprint

 

Parents as Teachers’ footprint is well established around the world. The Parents as Teachers model is currently being delivered in these countries: Canada, Germany, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States. International programs build on the model’s firm foundation and also reflect their country’s specific needs.

United Kingdom: Known as Parents as First Teachers, PAFT began in Buckinghamshire, England in 1991. A recent program evaluation by the UK’s National Academy for Parenting Research concluded PAFT was an important element of the country’s home visiting support for at-risk families. Today, there are 43 affiliates in England, Scotland and South Wales.

Learn more about Parents as First Teachers here.

Germany: Parents as Teachers – Mit Eltern Lernen serves families throughout Germany, many are immigrants from other countries. Yearly, over 300 families are served by organizations. The model was first implemented in 2004 in Nuremberg.

Learn more about Parents as Teachers – Mit Eltern Lernen here.

Switzerland: Schweizer Dachverband PAT – Mit Eltern Lernen, the international office located in Zurich, Switzerland was established in 2024. One of the largest longitudinal home visiting studies in Europe, ZEPPELIN, was conducted in Zurich, Switzerland. Results showed that Parents as Teachers had positive impacts on children ages 0-3, social-emotional, language, and cognitive development.  Today, there are 11 affiliates serving families across the country.

.

 

State, Regional & International Offices

Parents as Teachers state and country offices are a valuable partner in quality replication and expansion of PAT throughout the US and globally. They are both key representatives of Parents as Teachers and the entity closest to the affiliates and families, providing vital leadership and oversight for the network of Parents as Teachers affiliates in its state or country. Where there is not a state or country office, National Center staff are the contact for replication and expansion of Parents as Teachers.

 

Alaska

Heather Foxworthy
Parents as Teachers State Leader
University of Alaska Anchorage Child Welfare Academy
(907) 786-6720
hnfoxworthy@alaska.edu

Arkansas

Wanda Corney
Parents as Teachers State Manager
Arkansas Children’s Hospital, Inc.
Arkansas Home Visiting Network
501-364-5452
corneywf@archildrens.org

Delaware

Amber D. Shelton, PhD
Delaware State Leader
Delaware Department of Education
302-735-4051
amber.shelton@doe.k12.de.us

Christine Stoops
Delaware State Leader
Delaware Department of Education, Office of Early Learning
302-670-9448
crstoops@comcast.net

Georgia

Jessica Gurnow
Georgia Parents as Teachers State Lead
University of Georgia/Georgia Parents as Teachers Network
706-296-6141
jgurnow@uga.edu

Illinois

Ariel Chaidez
Parents as Teachers Illinois State Leader/Senior Program Manager
Start Early
847-687-4002
achaidez@startearly.org

Penny Smith
Early Childhood Principal Consultant
Illinois State Board of Education
217-524-4835
pesmith@isbe.net

Iowa

Patricia (PJ) West
MIECHV Program Manager/Community Health Consultant
Iowa Health and Human Services
515-229-9976
pj.west@idph.iowa.gov

Kansas

Lisa Williams
Parents as Teachers Consultant
Kansas Department of Education
785-296-4964
lwilliams@ksde.org

Maine

Ivory Mills
Training & Technical Assistance Coordinator
Maine Families Home Visiting Program 
(207) 623-5120
ivorym@mechildrenstrust.org

Massachusetts

Kevin Boulay
Senior Home Visiting Implementation Specialist
Parents As Teachers (PAT) State Office Lead
MA Home Visiting Initiative
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
kevin.f.boulay@state.ma.us

Michigan

Cynthia Zagar
Senior Professional Development and Training Coordinator
Michigan Public Health Institute (MPHI)
517-324-8343
czagar@mphi.org

Kim Harris
Model Specialist Coordinator
Michigan Public Health Institute (MPHI)
517-709-8222
kharris@phi.org

New Jersey

This Office also covers the Northeast Hub:
New York, Maryland, Vermont, Washington DC

Eva Szmutko
Director of Home Visting
Prevent Child Abuse – New Jersey Chapter, Inc.
732-289-8776
eszmutko@preventchildabusenj.org

Nancy Oliveira
Home Visiting Manager
Prevent Child Abuse – New Jersey Chapter, Inc
908-202-8549
noliveira@preventchildabusenj.org

North Carolina

Patti Learman
Director, Parents as Teachers State Leader
North Carolina Parents as Teachers, Inc.
336-207-7042
ncpat@ncpat.org

Oklahoma

Susan E. Gibson
Parents as Teachers Program Manager
Oklahoma State Department of Health
405-426-8037
SusanEG@health.ok.gov

Pennsylvania

Karen Shanoski
Family Support and Community Engagement Director
Center for Schools and Communities/ Central Susquehanna Intermediate Unit
717-763-1661 Ext. 139
kshanoski@csc.csiu.org

Rhode Island

Sidra Scharff
Implementation Specialist
The Office of Family Visiting
Rhode Island Department of Health
401-222-5934
sidra.scharff@health.ri.gov

South Carolina

Gina Beebe
Director of Parenting Programs
Local Implementation Team
South Carolina First Steps to School Readiness
803-734-0397
GBeebe@scfirststeps.org

Delores Rock
Parents as Teachers State Co-Leader
South Carolina First Steps to School Readiness
843-814-3217
DRock@scfirststeps.org

Washington

Cassie Morley
Senior Home Visiting Manager and Parents as Teachers State Leader
Start Early Washington
360-951-1812
Cmorley@startearly.org

Gaby Rosario
Parents as Teachers Co-State Leader
Start Early Washington
509-449-2003
grosario@startearly.org

West Virginia

Jackie Newson
Director, West Virginia Home Visitation Project
Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health
304-414-0648
jackie.j.newson@wv.gov

Susan Jackson
Child Abuse Prevention Specialist
Division of Early Care and Education
Bureau for Children and Families
304-356-4409
susan.m.jackson@wv.gov

Wisconsin

Wendy S Schwalbe
Home Visiting National Model Specialist
University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee, Helen Bader School of Social Welfare
414-315-7357
schwalbw@uwm.edu

 

Regional Hubs

Northeast Hub:
New York, Massachusetts, Washington DC
Eva Szmutko
Program Coordinator
Prevent Child Abuse – New Jersey Chapter, Inc.
732-246-8060Ext. 114
eszmutko@preventchildabusenj.org

International Offices

United Kingdom:
Pam Holtom
National Development Office
Parents as First Teachers – UK
44 1844 345847
pamholtom@parentsasfirstteachers.org.uk

Switzerland:
Carmen Drinkmann
Program Management
Mit Eltern Lernen
+49 911 37668570
carmen.drinkmann@pat-mitelternlernen.org

 

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT:
Tiedra Marshall
Director of Expansion
tiedra.marshall@parentsasteachers.org

 

Find a Program Near You

Translate »