Where We Are

State Offices, USA


Alabama    

Amy Floyd    
Alabama Department of Early Childhood Educaton        
334-353-2700        
Amy.Floyd@ece.alabama.gov


Alaska    

Debi Baldwin    
Rural Alaska Community Action Agency        
907-279-2511        
dbaldwin@ruralcap.com


Arkansas    

Wanda Corney    
Arkansas Children's Hospital, Inc./Arkansas Home Visting Network      
501-364-5461        
corneywf@archildrens.org


Colorado    

Heather Tritten    
Parent Possible, Executive Director    
303-860-6000    x1    
heather@cpcfonline.org


Connecticut    

Pamela Langer    
ConnPAT                                                     
State Leader    
860-738-8375        
connpat.langer1@gmail.com


Delaware    

Carmen Gallagher    
Delaware Department of Education        
302-735-4295  
Carmen.gallagher@doe.k12.de.us


Florida    

Georgina Rivera    
Champions for Children,Program Director    
813-673-4646    x1145    
grivera@cfctb.org


Georgia    

Sara Jane Blackman    
University of Georgia/Georgia Parents as Teachers Network    
Georgia PAT State Lead    
706-202-3273        
sjblackman@bellsouth.net


Germany    

Carmen Drinkmann    
Mit Eltern Lernen        
0049 911    37668570        
carmen.drinkmann@pat-mitelternlernen.org


Illinois    

Penny Smith  
Illinois State Board of Education        
217-524-4835        
pesmith@isbe.net

Barb Terhall    
Ounce of Prevention    
PAT Illinois State Leader; Training Manager    
312-348-4004      
bterhall@ounceofprevention.org


Iowa    

Patricia West  
Iowa Department of Public Health      
515-229-9976        
pj.west@idph.iowa.gov


Kansas    

 

                         
Maine    

Pamela LaHaye    
Maine's Familes Home Visiting Program    
Maine Families State Coordinator    
207 -623-5120        
plahaye@mainefamilies.org


Missouri    

JoAnne Ralston    
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education    
Coordinator, Early Learning    
573-751-0397        
JoAnne.Ralston@dese.mo.gov


New Jersey    

Jessica Nugent  
Prevent Child Abuse-New Jersey Chapter, Inc.    
Director of Home Visiting    
732-246-8060    x106  
jnugent@preventchildabusenj.org


Eva Szmutko    

Prevent Child Abuse-New Jersey Chapter, Inc.    
Program Coordinator    
732-246-8060    x114    
eszmutko@preventchildabusenj.org


Pennsylvania    

Karen Shanoski    
Centers for Schools and Communities/CSIU        
717-763-1661    x139    
kshanoski@csc.csiu.org


Rhode Island    

Sidra Scharff    
Rhode Island Department of Health        
401-222-5934        
sidra.scharff@health.ri.gov


South Carolina    

Mary Anne Mathews    
South Carolina First Steps    
Director of Parenting Programs    
803-734-0397        
mmathews@scfirststeps.org


Texas    

Elaine Shiver    
Texas Parents as Teachers    
Program Director    
214-363-8661      
txpat@txpat.org


United Kingdom    

Pam Holtom    
PAFT (Parents as First Teachers - UK)                
pamholtom@parentsasfirstteachers.org.uk


Virginia    

Lisa Specter-Dunaway    
CHIP of Virginia    
State Leader    
804-783-2667        
lspecter@chipofvirginia.org

Sheri Parcell    
CHIP of Virginia    
Dir. of T/TA    
540-951-7476        
sparcell@chipofvirginia.org


West Virginia

Jackie Newson    
West Virginia Dept. of Health &  Human Resources-Bureau for Children &  Families  
304-356-4408      
jackie.j.newson@wv.gov


Wisconsin    

Suzy Rodriguez    
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Helen Bader School of Social Welfare    
Home Visiting National Model Specialist    
414-964-7320        
rodrigsa@uwm.edu


WORLDWIDE

Parents as Teachers' footprint is well established around the world. The Parents as Teachers model is currently being delivered in six countries: Australia, Canada, Germany,  Singapore, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Parents as Teachers' international programs build on the model's firm foundation and also reflect their country's specific needs.

United Kingdom: Known as Parents as First Teachers, PAFT began in Buckinghamshire, England in 1991. A recent program evaluation by the UK's National Academy for Parenting Research concluded PAFT was an important element of the country's home visiting support for at-risk families. Today, there are 55 affiliates in England, Scotland and South Wales.

Germany: Known as PAT - Mit Eltern Lernen, or PAT - Learning With Parents, the model was imported into Nuremberg in 2004. Today, PAT - Mit Eltern Lernen serves families throughout Germany, many of whom are immigrants from other countries. Yearly, over 350 families are served by 29 organizations that have licensed the German PAT program. Parents' satisfaction is high, as 63 percent of the participants learn about the program through word of mouth. Find PAT - Mit Eltern Lernen on Facebook at www.facebook.com/PATmitelternlernen.

Australia: Parents as Teachers in Australia serves 4,000 families, many of whom are high risk or have special needs, through170 programs in urban, regional and remote areas of New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory. Services are delivered in partnership with local health districts, family support organizations and aboriginal programs. Parents as Teachers came to Australia in 1991 and operates through Macquarie University's Children and Families Research Centre.